Don’t you miss cupcakes?

How could I miss them if I never left them behind? 😉cupcake

(My very own dark chocolate cherry cupcake, paleo stylie)

One thing people do not realize is that cupcakes do not have to be made from gluten-filled boxes from the grocery store. Nor does the frosting have to be out of a can, either. What all is in those cans, anyways?

I truly believe life should be celebrated here and there with occasional cupcakes, brownies, pies, and other delicious nom noms. But what I refuse to do anymore is feel like crapola after I eat something treat-like. Why can’t we have high-quality treats that taste amazing and are nutritious?

I eat cupcakes that I make from scratch, and they are delicious. Usually the cake itself is coconut flour. The frosting is a cashew-butter base, and then I add the flavor of my choice. I made my mom some dark chocolate cherry cupcakes for mother’s day. It brought her to tears (aw) and she ate every last bite. My brother and his girlfriend tried them as well and were nutty about them.

My brother’s birthday is coming up and I plan on making him dark chocolate espresso bean cupcakes, paleo stylie. I shall post my concoction on my next post. Until then, eat well my friends.

 

Dark choco cherry cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcake:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tbs vanilla extract
  • 2 tbs local maple syrup (or best available)
  • 4 eggs. Get ’em from a local farmer if you can!

Icing:

  • 1 cup raw cashew butter
  • Marichino cherry juice (from the bottle of cherries). Add to taste.
  • 1/4 cup full fat coconut milk

Toppings:

  • Dark chocolate broken into pieces
  • Cherries!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Place all dry ingredients into bowel or food processor. Add eggs, syrup, and vanilla. Blend until mixed. No chunks! Place into cups. Bake at 350 for 15-18 min. Use toothpick to check if done.

While those puppies are cookin, place cashew butter and coconut milk into bowel. I prefer them to be chilled, so chill before or after if you can. Mix until creamy, then add cherry juice and mix thoroughly.

Cut cupcakes in half to make them look like a sandwich. Add frosting to middle and on top. Place cherry in middle with 2 pieces of chocolate on sides. Dust on top with cacao powder. And voila!

 

Leave a Reply

