“Well, it’s not the wheat”

Well, um, actually it is.

I went and saw a wonderful Naturopathic doctor in 2008 in Tempe, AZ. I decided I wanted to see a Primary Care Doctor who had a more holistic approach to health. I brought to her attention my ongoing constant bloating, farting, occasional cramping and other bowel lovelies. She immediately got a blood test for Celiac Disease.

Mayo Clinic definition of Celiac Disease is as follows:

“Celiac disease is an immune reaction to eating gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye.

If you have celiac disease, eating gluten triggers an immune response in your small intestine. Over time, this reaction produces inflammation that damages the small intestine’s lining and prevents absorption of some nutrients (malabsorption).”

I was very excited for the results. Could it be!?!? Alas, my results came in.

Negative.

Image…….

I was certain it was going to be positive. POSITIVE. However, according to my doctor, it wasn’t wheat or gluten. So no allergy. Well, ok then. On I go. “It’s not the wheat.” Just good old Irritable Bowel Syndrome… with no solutions.

I was already a vegetarian at this point eating a plethora of whole grains, per our USDA’s recommendations. So I am a good girl. Right?

Dead ass wrong.

Three more years pass, and during these years I am passing enough noxious gas to fuel a nuclear power plant. Not to be morbid, but you need to understand this was miserable. MISERABLE!!!!! Having to fart all the time is terribly uncomfortable, especially when you’re always around people. This had been my entire life, but when I was eating more whole grain breads, oatmeals, quinoa I was a balloon of bloat. It was Ezekiel cereal for breakfast, a whole grain sandwich for lunch, and some sort of seitan or tofu dish for dinner… mixed with plenty of fruits and veggies of course. And don’t forget the brown rice and beans!

March 2012 is when I did that fresh juice fast for two weeks with the hubby. No bloat, no farting, no misery. What gives? I had experimented with several different lifestyles over the years, however I had never in my life lived without wheat, gluten, and grains. Those two weeks were so relieving. I had read online that different people had success with the paleo diet and IBS, but OMG what a radical change. My wheat… brown rice… tofu… seitan… and beans… 70% of my then diet gone, only to let in meat and up the veggie factor.

Desperate, I tried. I told my husband I would do a two week trial. I mean, it couldn’t hurt.

So…I had never felt so amazing. In my life. I had been on this journey to feel amazing… not just OK, or “better.” I was on the journey to amazing, and I FINALLY arrived. Paleo brought to me what I had been searching for all these years.

Now, enough with me. Onto the bigger picture.

I always keep grains in mind as a healthcare worker. Just because one is negative for Celiac disease, Crohn’s, or ulcerative colitis doesn’t mean grains aren’t the culprit of their non-diagnosed misery.

I spend much of my time researching, and my research for the truth about grains has startled me. I can attest to it’s validity not only from my own personal experience, but from all the research out there. I recently have read more about the history of wheat, and it is kind of mind blowing. I always encourage people to go out and find the research for themselves, but here is a synopsis of what I have found…

Wheat has taken many forms over the centuries. The most radical change, though, occurred between the 1950’s and 1970’s

Image

Wheat was genetically modified… big time. It was modified to be shorter , more resistant to pests, weather conditions, etc. This new dwarf wheat comprises 99% of the world’s crop. This is the beer you drink, the bread you eat, and the pasta you fancy.

The man who was behind the genetic modification was Norman Borlaug (google him). He actually won the Nobel Peace Prize for his work in making wheat a “power crop.” The food industry must have been giddy, because they have made the basis of their empire this new wheat. However, this wheat was never tested for human consumption. This wheat was not a work of mother nature, but a result of fiddling genetic codes to make the most profitable and plentiful crop in the world.

“Life in it’s fullest is enjoyed when mother nature is obeyed.”- Weston Price

The foundation of the American Diet is not a result of mother nature… it is man-made. Notice when America started becoming “fat.” Like 1960’s and 70’s? Hmmmm like when wheat became the base of the food pyramid… in it’s new form… interesting. And all of these food allergies, autoimmune disorders, and diabetes, metabolic syndrome…. weird. How did we become this way?

Did you know that one slice of whole grain bread will spike your blood sugar more than a Snicker’s bar? I didn’t. And yet the diabetics in our nation are told to consume whole grains as part of a “healthy diabetic diet?”

http://www.health.harvard.edu/newsweek/Glycemic_index_and_glycemic_load_for_100_foods.htm

The higher the GI score, the more sugar is going to be released into your blood, which means more insulin is going to need to be released by your pancreas in order to transport the sugar from the blood into your cells for energy. If your cells have enough energy, anything extra is going to be transported to your fat cells to be stored since it is not needed at the time.

All this food science and talk goes much deeper than this, and I recommend The Wheat Belly by William David MD to get an idea about the history and effects of wheat. But I think you get the picture.

I cannot trust the giants of the food industry, FDA, and USDA.  When it comes to nutrition, I lack trust. Their advice is not a matter of science, but moreso convenience and profits. If it wasn’t, this nation wouldn’t be so sick. I listened for years, and I was not feeling well. Our nation does not feel well. Wheat has caused so much damage over the years that it is hard to imagine how to fix it all. All I can do is encourage people to cut wheat from their diets and find out for themselves the difference. More people are making the switch. Is it your turn?

I am sure Norman Borlaug meant well when he did his work. But in the end, you can’t mess with Mother Nature. It simply does not work.

I will be posting many wheat-free recipes for breads, cakes, bars, etc. Wheat is not the identity of a wonderful cupcake!

Until then, eat well my friends.

Leave a Reply

